Do You Possess Characteristics of Successful People?

My husband recently sent me an infographic that he thought I would be interested in (see link below). It made me take a close look at myself to see if I possessed more of the characteristics of successful people than of the unsuccessful people. I hoped for the best but had to seriously consider each characteristic. Below is a list of some of the characteristics that successful people exhibit:

Successful people:

  • Compliment
  • Forgive others
  • Accept responsibility for their failures
  • Keep a journal
  • Want others to succeed
  • Keep a “to be” list
  • Set goals and develop life plans
  • Continuously learn
  • Operate from a transformational perspective
  • Keep a “to do/project list”
  • Embrace change
  • Exude joy
  • Share information and data
  • Talk about ideas
  • Read everyday
  • Give other people credit for their victories
  • Have a sense of gratitude

I thought it would be a good idea to discuss several of the characteristics that made an impression on me when I saw the list. I had never really considered complimenting someone to be a characteristic of successful people. But the more I thought about the more I realized that it takes someone who is confident in their own abilities to compliment others.

Accepting responsibility for your own failures is something that is seemingly uncommon in our society today.   We tend to want to blame everyone else when something goes wrong but are quick to take the credit when things go right. We have to accept responsibility for our own actions then make adjustments when necessary.

Do we truly want other people to succeed? Take a deep look at yourself and make sure you are happy when others succeed even when you do not. It will take a great deal of character to truly be happy when things go well for others. Think about the difference we would see in society if everyone had this mentality.

The next characteristic, to continuously learn, is one that many of us could do without much additional effort. There are so many topics that I need to learn more about so I am trying to incorporate continuous learning into my everyday life. The Internet has many opportunities for free learning. Khan Academy is a great resource for free training. Just search for a topic you might be interested in and begin viewing the videos. My math skills needed a bit of refreshing so I am currently brushing up with Khan Academy. Another goal I have for the future is to learn to speak another language fluently. Well, this one might take a while, but I don’t mind. Once you quit learning you quit growing. I don’t want to become stagnant and I hope you don’t either.

How many of you, myself included, actually read everyday? I don’t always pick up a book but I read articles almost everyday. In my vocation, changes can occur daily so it is imperative that I stay current on the changes and trends in my industry. Remember that your industry or areas of interest might be affected by trends in other industries. There is so much information available that it would be a good idea to take advantage of it.

Successful people talk about ideas. Brainstorming with others can develop great ideas. Different perspectives should be considered as it sometimes only takes one simple idea to make something great happen. Businesses, clubs, organizations, etc., can benefit from this simple exercise. Discuss your ideas with others and be open to their suggestions.

Embracing change can be a tough pill to swallow as we often become comfortable with the way things are going. It takes too much effort to make changes and people sometimes tend to be resistant. I am usually only resistant when I feel the change is going to take us in the wrong direction. Imagine where technology would be today if change never took place and we just accepted the fact that nothing new could be invented.

We can all have a sense of gratitude or thankfulness. Without gratitude we can become bitter and life is too short to be bitter about everything. Find joy in your life and appreciate everyday!

Take a look at the characteristics you exhibit on a daily basis. Are any of the characteristics listed above?   Hopefully, you have many of the characteristics. If not, be aware of areas for improvement and make a decision today to work on building these characteristics in your life!

http://www.workingmomsonly.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/TheSuccessIndicator.jpg?inf_contact_key=0eefe7ee384be3361a1166dd9c638b26cb6df80e08181c1b450359de0d4da248

 

 

Leave a Reply

