Do You Know Your Purpose?

My husband and I were in a discussion this past weekend on why some people want to do and be the best and why others just settle for mediocrity. We talked about how some people have a fear of not trying while others have a fear of not succeeding. Both can be paralyzing if you let them.

It is interesting that I met a student last week that introduced me to a few new up and coming individuals in the motivational arena. I decided to read some of their books and I came across a great section in one book that I want to share with you.

The book was written by Grant Cardone called “Be Obsessed Or Be Average” and the section is titled Figure Out What Your Purpose Is.

Here are the majority of the questions he poses in this section:

  • What are the things I have always wanted to do?
  • What bores me?
  • What do I do that causes me to forget to eat?
  • What have I been interested in since childhood?
  • What am I willing to do for no money?
  • If money had nothing to do with my life, what would I do with my time?
  • What amount of money would I need to really make a difference for the better?
  • What can I do better than anyone?
  • What are some of my natural skills?
  • What have I always been good at?
  • What have I always been bad at?
  • What skills or talents do I have that I ignore?
  • In what areas do others think more of my abilities than I do?
  • What are the skills I need to develop?
  • What do I want to be remembered for?
  • What contributions can I make to society that I would be most proud of?
  • What do I want to make sure people never say about me?
  • Who are five successful people I admire?
  • What are those people doing that I admire?
  • What do I have in common with that list of people?
  • What makes me feel good?
  • What gives me energy?
  • What bad habits do I need to stop?
  • What good habits do I need to start?
  • If I knew I wouldn’t fail, what would I do?
  • If I could be known for one great thing, what would I want it to be?

These questions really made me stop and take a look at myself and my life. My charge to you today is to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule and seriously answer each question truthfully. Once you find out what it is that your life is about or that you want your life to be about, you will be better equipped to take the necessary steps to improve yourself to become who your are meant to be in life.

I believe you will be amazed at how much better you will feel about yourself when you find your purpose and you work to reach that purpose. Don’t let self-doubt keep you down. Overcome that doubt to be the best you can be and you will bring out the best in others!

Leave a Reply

